Accessibility informationSkip to the main content


Third-country nationals travelling from countries outside of the Schengen Area are not allowed to enter Austria.

The following passengers are allowed to enter Austria provided they can present a medical certificate that confirms that they have undergone a molecular biological SARS-CoV-2 test with a negative result issued not more than 72 hours before their arrival. Without this certificate, they will be required to undergo a 10-day quarantine.

  • Members of diplomatic missions and staff of international organisations as well as family members of these people living in the same household
  • Humanitarian workers, nursing and health personnel
  • Seasonal workers in the agricultural and forestry sector as well as tourism
  • Cargo-transport workers
  • Foreign nationals who hold a visa issued by Austria, a document proving their exemption under the foreign police act (fremdenpolizeigesetz) or the right of residence under the settlement and residence act