Accessibility informationSkip to the main content
South Korea

Travel to South Korea

There are restrictions to the categories of passengers who can enter South Korea at this time. Please check the requirements before you travel.

COVID-19 testing requirements

All foreigners arriving in or transiting from South Korea who have stayed in Kyrgyzstan, Bangladesh, Philippines, Nepal (effective 2 November) and Uzbekistan within 14 days from their arrival date must carry 2 copies of a negative COVID‑19 PCR test certificate (Korean and English only) issued within 48 hours of their scheduled departure from the country. The certificate must be issued by a testing lab or hospital designated by the Korean Embassy in the country. If the certificate is issued in any language other than Korean or English, the certificate must be translated into Korean or English and notarised.

Effective 24 July, seamen travelling to South Korea with a C‑3‑11 visa must present a negative COVID‑19 PCR test result certificate issued within 48 hours of departure. Seamen travelling from Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Philippines, Nepal (effective 2 November) and Uzbekistan must present a certificate issued by a test lab or hospital designated by the South Korean embassy in their country.

From 1 June 2020, registered foreigners who exited the Republic of Korea from 1 June 2020 who are seeking re-entry must apply for a re-entry permit and submit a medical certificate. They must present, while boarding and on arrival, a diagnosis report in English or Korean issued two days before departure by an authorised local medical institute. Under exceptional circumstances, a diagnosis report written in languages other than English or Korean can be accepted when submitted with a full English or Korean translation and a translation certificate. Notarisation of the translation is not required. The diagnosis report must include the date of examination (valid only when examined within 48 hours in advance of departure date) and the presence or absence of fever, cough, chills, headache, difficulty of breathing, muscle pain and pulmonary symptoms (X-ray scans are not required), and must be signed by a medical examiner. The report does not have to include results for a COVID-19 test, but a negative certificate for COVID-19 PCR test result will also be accepted. Registered foreigners who are seeking re-entry travelling from Kyrgyzstan, Bangladesh, Philippines, Nepal and Uzbekistan after staying there for the last 14 days must present a negative certificate for a COVID-19 PCR test issued by the hospital/lab designated by the Korean embassy/consulate. This does not apply to diplomats (A-1), government officials (A-2, A-3), overseas Koreans (F-4), nationals of the Republic of Korea and passengers with a diagnosis exemption form.


Effective 9 October 2020, customers connecting with Korean Air (KE) from Incheon (ICN) to Hong Kong (HKG) who are departing from countries in the Middle East including Dubai will not be accepted.

Transfer passengers from other areas through Dubai will be accepted for travel.

Connection to China via Incheon, Korea, is not allowed due to the lack of COVID-19 PCR testing facilities in the transit area. Passengers must have a visa and stay in South Korea for 14 days before taking a COVID-19 PCR test at two different hospitals, both with negative results, to continue their journey to China.

Other information

Effective 24 August 2020, the cost of quarantine and treatment may be imposed on the passenger.

Full costs will be imposed on violators of the isolation order or interdict of congregation or those who have submitted a forged COVID‑19 PCR test certificate regardless of the rules of reciprocity between countries.

Travelling to, from and through Dubai

If you're travelling to, from or transiting through Dubai, please check our Travel requirements for Dubai.