[ English ]
Skip to main content

Emirates Australian Open Championship

Emirates Australian Open Championship

Emirates Australian Open Championship Sponsorship

Australian Open Championship_LogoEmirates is the title sponsor of the Emirates Australian Open, one of the principal annual golf events on the PGA Tour of Australasia and also the OneAsia Tour, since the formation of that tour in 2009. The Emirates Australian Open has been played annually since 1904 and takes place towards the end of each calendar year. The location of the Emirates Australian Open has moved between the New South Wales Golf Club and The Lakes Gold Club just outside Sydney.

In recent years, the winner’s podium has been dominated by home golfers, but prior to their grip on the Stonehaven Cup, it had been won by some of the biggest names in golf. These include Gary Player, Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Brad Faxon, and Lee Westwood, with the latter being the only European golfer to have won the Emirates Australian Open.

The 2012 Emirates Australian Open saw the continued dominance of Australian golfers, with Peter Senior battling strong winds to take his second Emirates Australian Open title, 23 years after his first victory at Kingston Heath in 1989.

Emirates also sponsors the Ryder Cup, UBS Hong Kong Open, Dubai World Championship, BMW International Open 2012, Japan Open, WGC-HSBC Champions, Australian PGA Championship, Austrian Golf Open, Avantha Masters, Ballantine’s Championship, Barclays Singapore Open, Maybank Malaysian Open, Thailand Open, and Alstom Open de France.

14 times major winner, Tiger Woods, hits a tee shot on the 380 meter ‘Emirates A380 hole’ at the Lakes Golf Club.


Sign up now to receive special offers by email
Discover a world of rewards with Emirates Skywards
Enjoy up to 1,500 channels in all classes